Board of Directors

In May 1994, the Seguin City Council adopted Ordinance No. 1076 calling a special election on the adoption of an additional sales and use tax within the city at the rate of one-fourth of the percent to be used to reduce the property tax rate, pursuant to the provisions of Section 4A, of the Development Corporation Act of 1979. On September 6, 1994 the Seguin City Council approved the establishment of the Seguin Economic Development Corporation.

The Seguin City Council then authorized creation of the Seguin Economic Development Corporation and filed Articles of Incorporation with the Secretary of State. According to Article 6 of the Articles of Incorporation, the Economic Development Board of Directors is comprised of five persons (local business owners or managers) appointed by the majority of the governing body (the City Council) and hold office for three year terms. The initial terms of office for the directors shall be as designated by the City Council of the City of Seguin, with two (2) directors to have three (3) year terms, and one (1) director to have a one (1) year term. No member of the board shall serve more than two (2) consecutive full terms.

The Seguin Economic Development Board of Directors have played a pivotal role in the growth of Seguin, Texas. The Board meets on the first Thursday of each month at 12:00 P.M., agendas for upcoming meetings are posted on or by noon the Monday prior. Past board agendas and minutes are online as well.

For more information about the formation, powers and functions of the Seguin Economic Development Corporation, please review the Seguin Economic Development Corporation Articles of Incorporation and Seguin Economic Development Corporation Bylaws.

If you are interested in serving on the SEDC Board of Directors, or interested in serving on any other City of Seguin Board and/or Commission, please visit the following links:

The current Seguin Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors (SEDC) are as follows: